Fellows of the ECSS have made a significant contribution to the development of sport science through research and have supported the College immensely.

ECSS fellowship is approved by the Credentials, Awards & Tributes Committee, following an application process. Applications should be submitted to office@sport-science.org and must include:

  • Covering letter
  • Short CV
  • PhD level
  • Minimum of five years membership (consecutive membership is not required)
  • Participation in annual congress (three out of last five)
  • 10 papers in international, peer reviewed journals submitted as first or last author
  • Two letters of support from ECSS Fellows, see list of ECSS Fellows here
  • One page summarising evidence of promoting the ECSS (e.g. promote membership, promote congress attendance, contribution to congress programme, abstract reviewing, EJSS reviewing, supervision of YIA contestants)

Please note that according to the new by-laws:

1. Fellows who have not paid their membership fees in two years consecutively will lose their ECSS Fellow status.

2. ECSS Fellows over the age of 70 will receive a free ECSS Fellowship (membership).

A list of our current Fellows can be found below:

Nr. Last name First name Institution Country
1. Aagaard Per University of Southern Denmark Denmark
2. Alegre Luis M. Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha Spain
3. Al-Hazzaa Hazzaa Princess Nourah University Saudi Arabia
4. Ali Ajmol Massey University New Zealand
5. Ara Ignacio University of Castilla-La Mancha Spain
6. Armstrong Neil University of Exeter United Kingdom
7. Askew Christopher University of the Sunshine Coast Australia
8. Behm David Memorial University of Newfoundland Canada
9. Birklbauer Anita University of Salzburg Austria
10. Bogdanis Gregory National & Kapodistrian University of Athens Greece
11. Buckley Jonathan University of South Australia Australia
12. Cable Tim University of Birmingham United Kingdom
13. Cabri Jan Luxembourg Institute of Research in Orthopedics, Sports Medicine and Science Luxembourg
14. Calbet Jose Antonio Lopez University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Spain
15. Chen Trevor Chung-Ching National Taiwan Normal University Taiwan
16. Close Graeme Liverpool John Moores University United Kingdom
17. Collins Malcolm University of Cape Town South Africa
18. Couppé Christian University of Copenhagen Denmark
19. Csapo Robert University for Health Sciences, Medical Informatics and Technology Austria
20. De Vito Giuseppe University of Padova: Universita degli Studi di Padova Italy
21. Dela Flemming University of Copenhagen Denmark
22. Derave Wim Ghent University Belgium
23. Ditroilo Massimiliano University College Dublin Ireland
24. Donath Lars German Sport University Germany
25. Draper Nick University of Canterbury New Zealand
26. Duda Joan University of Birmingham United Kingdom
27. Edwards Andrew Canterbury Christ Church University United Kingdom
28. Elbe Anne-Marie Leipzig University Germany
29. Federolf Peter University of Innsbruck Austria
30. Ferrauti Alexander Ruhr University Bochum Germany
31. Fiorenzo Moscatelli Univerisity of Foggia Italy
32. Franchi Martino University of Padua Italy
33. George Keith Liverpool John Moores University United Kingdom
34. Gollhofer Albert University of Freiburg Germany
35. González-Alonso José Brunel University London United Kingdom
36. Green Daniel The University of Western Australia Australia
37. Greenhaff Paul University of Nottinham United Kingdom
38. Grimminger-Seidensticker Elke University of Paderborn Germany
39. Gruber Markus University of Konstanz Germany
40. Guadalupe Grau Amelia Faculty of Physical Activity and Sport-INEF, Technical University of Madrid Spain
41. Hamlin Mike Lincoln University New Zealand
42. Hanley Brian Leeds Beckett University United Kingdom
43. Hedenborg Susanna Malmö University Sweden
44. Helge Jørn Wulff University of Copenhagen Denmark
45. Hendricks Sharief University of Cape Town South Africa
46. Hettinga Florentina J Northumbria University United Kingdom
47. Hopkins Will Victoria University Australia
48. Jones Andrew Exeter University United Kingdom
49. Kalliokoski Kari University of Turku Finland
50. Kavouras Stavros Arizona State University United States
51. Kay Anthony The University of Northampton United Kingdom
52. Lamberts Robert Stellenbosch University South Africa
53. Lau Wing Chung Hong Kong Baptist University China
54. Leicht Anthony James Cook University Australia
55. Lemyre Pierre-Nicolas Norwegian School of Sport Science Norway
56. Lystad Reidar Macquarie University Australia
57. Maffiuletti Nicola Schulthess Clinic Switzerland
58. Mamen Asgeir Kristiania University College Norway
59. Mauger Alexis University of Kent United Kingdom
60. Mc Naughton Lars Edge Hill University United Kingdom
61. Meeusen Romain Vrije Universiteit Brussel Belgium
62. Misigoj Durakovic Marjeta Faculty of Kinesiology University of Zagreb Croatia
63. Morales-Álamo David Las Palmas University Spain
64. Mougios Vassilis Aristotle University of Thessaloniki Greece
65. Mukherjee Swarup National Institute of Education, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore Singapore
66. Müller Erich University of Salzburg Austria
67. Mundel Toby Massey University New Zealand
68. Nagatomi Ryoichi Tohoku University Japan
69. Narici Marco University of Padova Italy
70. Nassis George Aspetar Qatar
71. Padulo Johnny Università degli Studi di Milano Italy
72. Paoli Antonio University of Padova Italy
73. Pedersen Bente Klarlund Rigshospitalet Denmark
74. Périard Julien University of Canberra Australia
75. Piacentini Maria Francesca University of Rome-Foro Italico Italy
76. Pilz-Burstein Rutie Sport- A Bridge To Education Israel
77. Platen Petra Institute of Sports Medicine and Sports Sciences Germany
78. Polman Remco Queensland University of Technology Australia
79. Raastad Truls Norwegian School of Sport Sciences Norway
80. Racinais Sebastien Aspetar Orthopaedic and Sports Medicine Hospital Qatar
81. Roelands Bart Vrije Universiteit Brussel Belgium
82. Santos-Concejero Jordan University of The Basque Country UPV/EHU Spain
83. Seynnes Olivier Norwegian School of Sport Sciences Norway
84. Siu Parco The University of Hong Kong China
85. Skorski Sabrina University of Saarland Germany
86. Song Wook Seoul National University Korea, South
87. Stathi Afroditi University of Birmingham United Kingdom
88. Steinacker Jürgen Michael Universität Ulm Germany
89. Stevens Christopher Southern Cross University Australia
90. Suominen Harri University of Jyväskylä Finland
91. Taylor Lee Aspetar Qatar
92. Thompson Janice The University of Birmingham United Kingdom
93. Tipton Kevin Durham University United Kingdom
94. Van Lieshout Johannes Lab Clin Cardiovasc Physiol, Heart Failure Research Centre Amsterdam Netherlands
95. van Loon Luc Maastricht University Medical Centre Netherlands
96. Verdijk Lex Maastricht University Medical Centre Netherlands
97. Verhagen Evert VU University medical center Netherlands
98. Vogt Tobias German Sport University Germany
99. Wagenmakers Anton Liverpool John Moores University United Kingdom
100. Willems Mark University of Chichester United Kingdom
101. Williams Andrew Mark University of Utah United States
102. Wiskemann Joachim National Center for Tumor Diseases (NCT) Germany
103. Wong Del P. Open University of Hong Kong Hong Kong